Skip to content

Delete History in Internet Explorer

This guide will show you how to clear the history in internet explorer.

 

how to delete history on internet explorer 

Every time you surf the web using Internet Explorer, the browser tracks and records your activities online, including the sites you visit, searches, passwords, file downloads and all the information you enter in online forms. This information is logged in the “History” section of your browser, which you can access to view your recently visited pages during your internet sesión. Not only today but all time session data is logged and stored.

Moreover, in the case that you wish to secure your browsing privacy, you have the option to clear the stored data in the browser by clearing your search and browsing data. This is more helpful when you’re using a public or shared computer (with friends or family), such as when you are at the library, your house or your office.

Remember that Internet Explorer will delete the list of all the websites that you have visited, (The entire list or a specified time period, which depends on your choice in the following guide).  Let’s see how it is done.

 

YOU WANT TO DELETE YOUR ENTIRE WEB HISTORY

 

First Start your version of Internet Explorer.

In the menu bar of the browser, click on the option “Tools”. You will see it in the top menu as it is shown in the next image.

Look at the “Tools” menu, Click on the option “Internet Options”.

The internet options  window will be on your screen. In the “General Tab”, go to the second option “browsing history” and click the “Delete” button. This will open another window. See below the mentioned window.

There are some options to choose from. Deselect all the boxes and check only “History”. Then click delete.

There is another option, that will clear your history automatically every time you exit explorer.

If you want that, select the check “Delete Browsing History on Exit” in the main window (Menu general > Browsing History). Finally click “ok”.

Be aware selecting this option will not store your historical information ever from now on. You can be losing some useful information of website name difficult to remember. It is not recommended to select the on exit option.

 

I JUST WANT TO REMOVE SOME SPECIFIC SITES

This is the recommended option if you don’t have a very large list of websites or if you want to choose which of all the information stored you want to save and which you want to remove. Let’s see how it is done:

  1. Open your IE browser.
  2. Select Favorites.
  3. Select the option History.
  4. Here you will be viewing all tracked records. The can be filtered by date, by site and by Most Visited  or by Order Visited Today .
  5. To delete from the list just single websites, you will have to click (right click) the site from and click on “delete”.

 

The guide is over.