Skip to content

How To Delete Linkedin Account

LinkedIn is a social network for professionals or even university students who create job opportunities for their members. Since its creation in May 2003, it has managed to reach the not insignificant figure of 546 million users in more than 200 countries and territories, thus achieving a comparison with Facebook in terms of popularity, and establishing the LinkedIn business as a reference of quality.

It has developed a variety of solutions in the areas of human resources, recruitment, marketing of products, services and talent development, and it couldn’t be any different, since it’s composed of leading executives who cultivated their experiences in leading technology companies, with Reid Hoffman as one of its 5 founders. LinkedIn uses constant evaluations of companies, especially startups, to create the most relevant data in terms of better expectations for professional development, company growth, employee growth and interest of job seekers through views and applications. This is why the so-called LinkedIn jobs are synonymous of quality.

Having a LinkedIn profile puts you in front of millions of potential employers around the world, and that allows you to find the commercial relationships adapted to each of your needs. It’s almost certain that you already know and participate in this social network. However, you may have reasons to leave the network at any time.

 

How do I delete my LinkedIn Account

 

1- Go to the LinkedIn official website: www.linkedin.com

2- Sign in into the LinkedIn account that you want to delete with your email address and your password.

3- Once you signed in, remember to look at your LinkedIn account and see all the connections.

When you delete your LinkedIn account you’re going to lose endorsements, recommendations, your connections and all the data in your account.

 

4- Ok, so you are decided. Put your mouse cursor over the profile picture (icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage) and press it, a menu will show up, then scroll down and click on “Settings & Privacy” option.

 

 

5- In the next page, verify that you are in “Account” tab.

 

6- Scroll down to the bottom, where you’ll find “Account management”, and the ‘Closing your LinkedIn account’ option. Press it.

7- Check the reason for closing your account and click “Next”. If you pick “Other”, please use the text area next to it to describe the specific reason.

 

 

 

8- Enter your account password and click “Close account” when the button is highlighted. Maybe you want to unsubscribe from email communications too. To do that, press in the left checkbox.

 

9- At this moment, you will see that your account has been effectively erased

Through this method, you will delete your LinkedIn account. Remember, you can always create a new account. However, you won’t have your old contacts.

 

Very important:

LinkedIn offers this information that you need to consider:

You can re-open your account in most cases if it's been closed for less than 20 days, but we're unable to recover the following items even if you reopen your account:

  • Endorsements and recommendations.
  • Ignored or pending invitations.
  • Followings (Influencers, Companies, etc.).
  • Group memberships.

On Mobile

These are the few steps that will help users to delete their LinkedIn Accounts from the Android app:

 

1- Launch the LinkedIn app for android.

 

 

2- Sign in with your credentials, email and password.

 

 

3- Once in your account, go to your profile picture.

 

 

4- Then, tap the “Settings” icon in the top right corner of your profile.

 

5 -On the “Account” tab, scroll down to “Close account” and tap the “Close account” option.

 

 

6 -Once you go with the first option, tap “Continue”, and then give a reason for why you want to close your LinkedIn account. To next, press on the “Next” button.

 

 

7- In the following window, you need to enter your account password.

 

 

After that tap on “Done”.

That’s it, your account will be closed.

 

Remove Account Without Password

If you don't remember your password you can ask for a new one: https://www.linkedin.com/help/linkedin/answer/1167

 

Erase Account Without Mail address

If you don't have access to your mail address you still can delete your account. You will have to verify your identity with other options: https://www.linkedin.com/uas/request-password-reset

 

Is it possible to reactivate your account?

Yes, it is feasible to reactivate your account, just take into consideration that this option will only be available for 20 days after deactivation. To reactivate it, you just have to head back to the LinkedIn website and sign in with your account’s email address and password.

You’ll see a “Reactivate” button that will reactivate your account, although you’ll lose the group memberships, followings, ignored and pending invitations, endorsements, and recommendations.